Oversight Committee 

The Oversight Committee is responsible for overall strategic guidance of the Lever Press. The Committee consists of 12 representatives nominated and elected by the Lever Press pledging libraries and two representatives from Amherst College Press and Michigan Publishing. The committee meets monthly by teleconference and in person at least once per year.

The Oversight Committee members are:


Term ending December 31, 2018

  • Mark Christel, Samuel R. and Marie-Louise Rosenthal Librarian of Grinnell College
  • Dalia Corkrum, College Librarian, Whitman College
  • Bryn Geffert, Librarian of the College, Amherst College (Vice-Chair)
  • Michael Roy, Dean of the Library, Middlebury College (Chair)
  • Peggy Seiden, College Librarian, Swarthmore College

Term ending December 31, 2019

  • Marjorie Hassen, College Librarian, Bowdoin College
  • Jonathan Miller, Director of Libraries, Williams College

Term ending December 31, 2020

  • Marta Brunner, Dean of the Library at Skidmore College
  • Alexia Hudson-Ward, Director of Libraries, Oberlin College
  • Jennifer Nutefall, University Librarian, Santa Clara University
  • John Tombarge, Professor and University Librarian, Washington and Lee University


  • Mark Edington, Director, Amherst College Press
  • Charles Watkinson, AUL for Publishing and Director of the University of Michigan Press

Previously Served

  • Andrew Ashton, Director of the Libraries, Vassar College
  • Terri Fishel, Library Director, Macalester College
  • Kevin Mulroy, Dean of the Claremont Colleges Library
  • Loretta Parham, Chief Executive Officer and Library Director at the Atlanta University Center
  • Marci Sortor, Provost, St. Olaf College

Minutes of Oversight Committee meetings are available for download:




For more information, see the Lever Press Governance Statement.